National and state laws protects renters’ rights when their units have been in foreclosure. As an example, California Civil Code 2924.8, 2924b needs a trustee to notify renters at least 20 times before the foreclosure sale of a a house in which they reside. In the event the purchaser of the foreclosure home would like to evict the tenants, the tenants should receive 60 days’ notice. Properties in rent-restricted regions could have additional protection. A tenant residing in a Bay Area rent-restricted unit is unable to have to leave his house, even whenever house comes in a foreclosure. Under the Rent Stabilization Ordinance of San Francisco, renters evicted as a result of no fault of their particular can apply to get a transfer allowance of up to $5,000 per renter.!
See with your county assessor web site. In California, the State Board Of Equalization offers a list of county assessors (see Sources).
Hunt for the property and write the lot number down. In the event that you are utilizing the web site for the county of San Fran’s office of the assessor, click on “Parcel Info” and enter your address, or click the aerial view maps.
See with the local county recorder web site. Some counties, like San Fran, have a mixed assessor-recorder workplace, as well as the record and package information may be sought to a single website.
Click the Records part of your county recorder’s web site. In San Fran, enter your parcel number as well as click on “Foreclosure Records.” In the event the home-owner of your home is delinquent in his mortgage repayments, there will probably be references to your notice of default from perhaps a notice of foreclosure and the financial institution, with respect to the phase of foreclosure the house is in.